Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use our recommended databases to find journal articles in your subject area. Learn more about finding articles, or request articles that the library does not have access to.
Check out these discipline-specific databases. Limiting to specific disciplines can often help narrow search results.
Link to video tutorials, how-to guides, and other user aids developed by our database providers.
These multidisciplinary databases will find articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, etc.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: One centralized search for all of NU's subscribed ProQuest databases.
Purpose: Search multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from ProQuest including ProQuest Dissertations.
Related Databases
Here are some more specialized databases that you may be interested in:
Content: Contains reviews of test instruments and measures
Purpose: Users may learn about the strengths and weaknesses of particular test instruments.
Special Features: Includes automatic translation software
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature
Here are all education-related databases:
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
Begin with these searches then modify to focus on your own research questions.
Following the format below is a great way to construct an article search for research studies.
Teaching Methods
For more strategies, see the glossary by Kelly Jo Rowan: Glossary
Learning Disabilities
Second Language
Inclusion
Age, Gender, & Ethnicity
The following examples are terms that could be used to describe group identity, cultural identity, or reference group.
Research
Adding research terms to a search can help you find research-based articles and certain kinds of studies. Below are a few examples.
Self-reflection terms to use with your personal educational philosophy or who you are as a teacher journaling:
When researching a question, don't use complete sentences. Instead, use the most important keywords! For example:
How are mobile devices affecting education?
The most important keywords are:
mobile devices AND education
Use Boolean operators to modify your search. This is very useful when you are searching for journal articles!
Boolean Operators
AND OR NOT
AND will narrow your search results:
"global warming" AND glaciers
OR will expand your search results:
"mobile devices" OR smartphones
NOT will exclude certain results:
cowboys NOT football
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. This will help you find more specific results! For example:
social media = 8221 results
"social media" = 1140 results
Use an asterisk (*) after a set of letters to perform a truncated search. This will find variations of a word. For example:
musc*
will find results containing the words...
muscle, muscular, musculoskeletal, etc.
