Nursing Theorists

Models of Practice & Nursing Theory

Group Presentation
Due Week 4
Minimum of 3 Scholarly References

Find Information on Nursing Theorists

The library has many eBooks available on nursing models and nursing theorists. Begin with some basic sample searches here to look for chapters on your assigned nursing models and theorists. Click here for a sample search to see what we have currently in the collection for eBooks or check out the Featured Books below.

Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by Marlaine Smith; Marilyn E. Parker
ISBN: 9780803679917
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.
Pioneering Theories in Nursing by Austyn Snowden
Publication Date: 2010
Pioneering Theories in Nursing traces the origins of nursing theories through their founders. Unlike other nursing theory texts, this book provides the personal story on some of the greatest nursing leaders, clinicians and theorists to date so the reader can understand the context within which the nursing pioneer developed their theory.
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by Parker
Publication Date: 2010
For each theory, you'll find an introduction to the theorist, a description of the theory's role as a model for nursing practice, and an examination of its application in clinical practice. Readers will understand how the theory has been used in the past and evaluate it as a model for clinical practice. A section is devoted to middle range theories and practice models that support evidence-based nursing practice. Chapters are written by the original theorists, scholars, and nurses experienced in use of the theory in their practice.
Nursing Knowledge Development and Clinical Practice by Callista Roy; Dorothy A. Jones
Publication Date: 2007
Concentrating on four major themes--the current state of nursing knowledge, the philosophy of nursing knowledge, the integration of nursing knowledge with practice, and examples of the impact on health care delivery when nursing knowledge is applied--"Nursing Knowledge Development and Clinical Practice" gives concrete examples of how nursing knowledge can improve nursing practice and overall health care delivery both today and in the future.

The library has many print books available on nursing models and nursing theorists. Begin with some basic sample searches here to look for chapters on your assigned nursing models and theorists.

Nursing Theorists and Their Work by Martha Raile Alligood
Call Number: RT84.5 .N87 2018
Provides an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory.
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists by Kathleen Sitzman; Lisa Wright Eichelberger
Call Number: RT 84.5 .S53 2011
Includes theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson.
The Neuman Systems Model
Call Number: RT 84.5 .N474 2011
Completely updated in a new edition, this book presents a look at the application of the Neuman Systems Model in nursing education and practice, with emphasis on social change, current trends, and future nursing needs.
Nursing Theories: a Framework for Professional Practice by Kathleen Masters
Call Number: RT84.5 .M364 2015
Includes theories of Sister Callista Roy, Betty Neuman, Madeleine Leininger, Afaf Ibrahim Meleis, and models by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.
Health Promotion in Nursing Practice by Nola J. Pender; Carolyn L. Murdaugh; Mary Ann Parsons
Call Number: RT67 .P56 2015
Provides foundation for understanding and building the science and practice of health promotion while introducing the major individual and community models and theories that guide health promotion interventions. Authored by Nursing Theorist Nola J. Pender.

Use these databases to access online reference materials. Get started by clicking a logo below.

A-All EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Help using this database.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.

Get Books Delivered

If you live outside of the San Diego area, you may have books delivered. Books will be delivered to the National University center closest to you.

If you live more than 40 miles away from a center, books will be delivered directly to your home. Learn more here:

Books Direct Request Form

Borrow Books From Other Libraries

If you cannot find a book in our library, we can borrow the book from another library through our interlibrary loan service.

Interlibrary loans can take anywhere from two days to two weeks or longer to fill. Course textbooks may not be requested through the interlibrary loan service. Learn more here:

Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form