Skip to main content

Paralegal Studies Resources: Getting Started

Core Databases

The following core databases cover Legal subjects, and are only available to students in the Paralegal program. Contact your instructor to receive the accounts.

The following databases cover Legal subjects, and are available on the Library website

Search LexisNexis Academic

Search Legal Cases on LexisNexis Academic
 

To search a specific field, use CITE() for citations and NAME() for party name.
For example, to search for Roe v. Wade, search NAME(Roe) AND NAME(Wade).

Search News on LexisNexis Academic
 

To search a specific field, use HLEAD() for headlines and lead paragraphs.
You can also use PUBLICATION() for newspapers and DATE() for dates.

Search Company Dossiers on LexisNexis Academic
 

Enter a company name in the search box. This search only returns Company Dossier snapshots.
For other Dossier functionality like "Create a Company List", click on the tabs post-search.

Loading

Other Guides & Resources

  Library Tutorials

  Library Login

Library databases require user authentication.

  • ID: 9-digit NU ID Number
  • Password: 6-digit birth date  (MMDDYY)

What's New!

Aug. 12: CRCnetBASE is a great database for science, technology, and medical e-books. We recently added the Computer Science & Engineering collection, which includes almost 900 new titles. Take a look!

Aug. 2: Summer is the perfect time to escape and dive into a good book. Check out some NU Library staff picks as part of our Summer Reading Series!

Jul. 22: If Comic-Con has you in the mood for a good graphic novel, check out our awesome new guide featuring some of the latest and greatest graphic novels in our collection!

Contact Us

Library Staff

We enjoy assisting our students, faculty, and staff. Let us know how we can help you!

  Email: refdesk@nu.edu
  Text: (858) 367-0904
  Call: (858) 541-7900
  Toll free:  (866) 682-2237 ext. 7900
  Ask Us (Chat & FAQ)
  Schedule a Consultation
  Library Hours & Location
  Find us on Facebook