Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Research Proposal Part I
Introduction/Literature Review
Briefly state why the research is important and how it will contribute to knowledge and health. Provide a hypothesis or the aim of the research. The literature review should consist of a review of at least 7 representative papers pertinent to the research you are proposing.
Start with these library databases to locate articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and more.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
Content: Detailed information about periodicals.
Purpose: Use to verify if a journal is peer-reviewed, as well as discover additional information on a specific journal.
Special Features: Provides a review of certain journals
If you didn't find enough resources in our recommended databases, check out some of these additional databases.
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
Content: Comprehensive consumer health resource providing authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Purpose: Provides background reading on health issues. Check the "Refereed publications" box to find peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
Special Features: A broad collection of premier full-text reference works, Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter, streaming video, audio, and images
Content: Medical database covering nursing, allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Purpose: Provides information about all topics relevant to nursing and nursing education
Special Features: Advanced search functions including MESH capability.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
To have Google Scholar search National University library databases, you'll need to link your Google account to the library. View the tutorial below (2:14) to show you how.
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
This video by North Carolina State University does a great job outlining the literature review process. If you have any questions, contact the library!
