Skip to main content

Course Reserve Lists

SPD 638 - Content Differentiation

Lead Faculty: Dr. Denise Hexom & Dr. Judy Menoher
Last Update: 2/2014

Journal Articles, Books, and other Resources
 

Airasian P. (2000). Assessment in the classroom: A concise approach (2nd ed.). Boston: McGraw-Hill. [Available in the Library: LB 3051 A5626 2000

Arter, J., & Chappuis, J. (2007). Creating & recognizing quality rubrics. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education. [Available in the Library: LB 3060.37 A78 2007]

Arter, J., & McTighe, J. (2001). Scoring rubrics in the classroom: Using performance criteria for assessing and improving student performance. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: LC 1034 A78 2001]

Bafile, C. (2004, May 27). Wire side chat: Different strokes for different little folks: Carol Ann Tomlinson on Differentiated Instruction. Education World. Available from http://www.educationworld.com/a_issues/chat/chat107.shtml

Bender, W. N. (2008). Differentiating instruction for students with learning disabilities: Best teaching practices for general and special educators (2nd  ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LC 4704.5 B46 2008]

Bender, W. N. (2009). Differentiating math instruction: Strategies that work for K-8 classrooms (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin  [Available in the Library: QA 20 I53 B46 2009

Brighton, C., Hertberg, H., Callahan, C., Moon, T., Brimijoin, K., Conover, L., & Reynolds, T. (2003, Winter). Differentiating instruction in response to student readiness, interest, and learning profile in academically diverse classrooms: A review of literature. Journal for the Education of the Gifted, 27(2-3), 119-145. Available from http://journals.prufrock.com/IJP/b/journal-for-the-education-of-the-gifted  

Brimijoin, K., Marquissee, E., & Tomlinson, C. A. (2003, February). Using data to differentiate instruction. Educational Leadership, 60(5), 70-72. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

Brookhart, S. (2002). What will teachers know about assessment and how will that improve instruction? In R. W. Lissitz & W. D. Schafer (Eds.). Assessment in educational reform: Both means and ends. Boston: Allyn and Bacon. [Available in the Library: LB 3051 A769 2002]

Chapman, C., & King, R. (2005). Differentiated assessment strategies: One tool doesn’t fit all. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: LB 3051 C4483 2005]

Chapman, C., & King, R. (2009). Differentiated instructional strategies for reading in the content areas (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 1050.455 C52 2009]  

Chapman, C., & King, R. (2009). Differentiated instructional strategies for writing in the content areas (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 1576 C419 2009]  

Gregory, G. H. (2005). Differentiating instruction with style: Aligning teacher and learner intelligences for maximum achievement. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 1031 G744 2005]

Gregory, G. H., & Hammerman, E. (2007). Differentiated instructional strategies: One size doesn’t fit all (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 1031 G74 2007

Gregory, G. H., & Kuzmich, L. (2005). Differentiated literacy strategies for student growth and achievement in grades 7-12. Thousand Oaks, Corwin. [Available in the Library: LB 1631 G725 2005]

Gregory, G. H., & Kuzmich, L. (2005). Differentiated literacy strategies for student growth and achievement in grades K-6. Thousand Oaks, Corwin. [Available in the Library: LB 1576 G773 2005

Heacox, D. (2002). Differentiating instruction in the regular classroom: How to reach and teach all learners, grades 3-12. Minneapolis, MN: Free Spirit. [Available in the Library: LB 1031 H39 2002]

Holloway, J. H. (2000, September). Preparing teachers for differentiated instruction. Educational Leadership 58(1), 82-83. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

How to differentiate instruction. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.teach-nology.com/

Kusimo, P., Ritter, M. G., Busick, K., Ferguson, C., Trumbull, E., Solano-Flores, G. (2000). Making assessment work for everyone: How to build on student strengths. San Francisco: WestEd. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED447237)

Johnson, D. T. (2000). Teaching mathematics to gifted students in a mixed-ability classroom. ERIC Digest. Retrieved from ERIC database (ED 441302).

Jones, R. (2009, March 17). Strategies for reading comprehension. ReadingQuest: Making sense in social studies. Retrieved from http://www.readingquest.org/

Levine, M. D. (2002). A mind at a time. New York: Simon & Schuster. [Available in the Library: LB 1060 L383 2002]

Marzano, R. J. (2000). Transforming classroom grading. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available in the Library: LB 3060.37 M27 2000]

Mueller, J. (2011). Authentic assessment toolbox. Available from http://jfmueller.faculty.noctrl.edu/toolbox/

Moll, A. M. (2003). Differentiated instruction guide for inclusive teaching. Port Chester, NY: Dude. [Available in the Library: LC 4031 M64 2003]

Moon, T. R., Callahan, C. M., & Tomlinson, C. A. (2003, April 28). Effects of state testing programs on elementary schools with high concentrations of student poverty: Good news or bad news? Current Issues in Education [Online], 6(8). Available from http://cie.asu.edu/volume6/number8/index.html

Moon, T. R., Callahan, C. M., Tomlinson, C. A., & Miller, E. M. (2002, December). Middle school classrooms: Teachers’ reported practices and student perceptions. (National Research Center on the Gifted and Talented, Report No. RM02164). Storrs, CT: University of Connecticut. Available from http://www.gifted.uconn.edu/nrcgt/reports/rm02164/rm02164.pdf

Paterson, K. (2005). Differentiated learning: Language and literacy projects that address diverse backgrounds and cultures. Portland, ME: Pembroke. [Available in the Library: CUR: LC 1200 P38 2005]

Pettig, K. (2000, September). On the road to differentiated practice. Educational Leadership, 58(1), 14-18. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

Purcell, J., Burns, E., Tomlinson, C., Imbeau, M., & Martin, J. (2002, Fall). Bridging the gap: A tool and technique to analyze and evaluate gifted education curricula units. Gifted Child Quarterly, 46(4), 306-312. Available from http://www.nagc.org/index.aspx?id=979

Rose, D. H., & Meyer, A. (2002). Teaching every student in the digital age: Universal design for learning. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available in the Library: LB 1031 R67 2002]

Saskatoon Public Schools. (n.d.). Instructional strategies online. Retrieved from http://olc.spsd.sk.ca/DE/PD/instr/instrsk.html

Shelton, C. M., & Stern, R. (2004). Understanding emotions in the classroom: Differentiating teaching strategies for optimal learning. Port Chester, NY: Dude. [Available in the Library: LB 1060 S532 2004]

Smutny, J. F., & Von Fremd, S. E. (2010). Differentiating for the young child: Teaching strategies across the content areas, PreK-3 (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 1523 S59 2010

Sprenger, M. (2008). Differentiation through learning styles and memory (2nd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 1060 S695 2008

Stiggins, R. J. (2007). Classroom assessment for student learning: Doing it right – Using it well (Special ed.). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education. [Available in the Library: CUR: LB 3051 C555 2007

Tilton, L. (2003). The teacher’s toolbox for differentiating instruction: 700 strategies, tips, tools and techniques. Shorewood, MN: Covington Cove Publications. [Available in the Library: LB 1031 T54 2003]

Tomlinson, C. A. (1995). Differentiating instruction for advanced learners in the mixed-ability middle school classroom. ERIC Digest. Retrieved from ERIC Database (ED389141)

Tomlinson, C. A. (1999). The Differentiated classroom: Responding to the needs of all learners. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection]

Tomlinson, C. A. (1999, September). Mapping a route toward a differentiated instruction. Educational Leadership, 57(1), 12-16. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

Tomlinson, C. A. (2001). How to differentiate instruction in mixed-ability classrooms (2nd ed.). Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection]

Tomlinson, C. A. (2001). Standards and the art of teaching: Crafting high-quality classrooms. NASSP Bulletin, 85(622), 38-47. doi: 10.1177/019263650108562206

Tomlinson, C. A. (2002, September). Invitations to learn. Educational Leadership, 60(1), 6-10. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

Tomlinson C. A. (2003). Fulfilling the promise of the differentiated classroom: Strategies and tools for responsive teaching. [Available in the Library: LB 1031 T655 2003]

Tomlinson, C. A. (2003, October). Deciding to teach them all. Educational Leadership, 61(2), 6-11. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

Tomlinson C. A. (2004). Differentiation in diverse settings. School Administrator, 61(7), 28-35. Available from http://www.aasa.org/AASAPublications.aspx

Tomlinson, C. A. (2004). Teaching high ability learners in an authentic middle school. Middle School Journal, 35(5), 7-11. Available from http://www.nmsa.org/Publications/MiddleSchoolJournal/tabid/435/Default.aspx

Tomlinson, C. A. (2004). The mobius effect: Addressing learner variance in schools. Journal of Learning Disabilities, 37(6), 516-524. Available from http://www.sagepubs.com

Tomlinson, C. A. (2004, Summer). Sharing responsibility for differentiating instruction. Roeper Review, 26(4), 188-189. Available from http://www.tandf.co.uk/journals/titles/02783193.asp

Tomlinson, C.A. (2004, September). Differentiation at home as a way of understanding differentiation at school. Parenting for High Potential, 5-9. Available from http://www.nagc.org/index2.aspx?id=34&pb

Tomlinson, C. A. (2005, Summer). Grading and differentiation: Paradox or good practice. Theory Into Practice, 44(3) 262-269. doi: 10.1207/s15430421tip4403_11

Tomlinson, C. A. (2005, Spring). Quality curriculum and instruction for highly able students. Theory Into Practice, 44(2) 160-166. doi: 10.1207/s15430421tip4402_10

Tomlinson, C. A. (2005, April). Reach them to teach them. Educational Leadership, 62(7), 8-15. Available from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership.aspx

Tomlinson, C. A. (2005, August). Differentiating instruction: Why bother? Middle Ground, 9(1), 12-14. Available from http://www.amle.org/Publications/tabid/95/Default.aspx

Tomlinson, C. A., & Allan, S. D. (2000). Leadership for differentiating schools & classrooms. Alexandria, VA: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection]

Tomlinson, C. A., & Eidson, C. C. (2003). Differentiation in practice: A resource guide for differentiating curriculum, Grades 5-9. Baltimore, MD: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection]

Tomlinson, C. A., & Eidson, C. C. (2003). Differentiation in practice: A resource guide for differentiating curriculum, Grades K-5. Baltimore, MD: Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. [Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection]

Tomlinson, C. A., & George, P. S. (2005, Fall). Traveling the road to differentiation in staff development. Journal of Staff Development, 26(4), 8-12. Available from http://www.learningforward.org/news/jsd/index.cfm

Tyner, B. (2009). Small-group reading instruction: A differentiated teaching model for beginning and struggling readers (2nd ed.). Newark, DE: International Reading Association. [Available in the Library: LB 1573 T96 2009]

Universal design for learning (UDL) guidelines. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.cast.org/index.html

Wiggins, G., ERIC Clearinghouse on Tests Measurement and Evaluation, & American Institutes for Research. (1990, December). Case for authentic assessment. ERIC Digest. Retrieved from ERIC database (ED 328611).

 

For additional resources, try one of the following searches:

Find Articles:

Find Books: