Skip to main content

Course Reserve Lists

TED688 - Meeting Needs of All Learners

Faculty Lead: Dr. Jo Birdsell
Last Update: 5/2015


Reading List

Barbu, S., Cabanes, G., & Le Maner-Idrissi, G. (2011). Boys and girls on the playground: Sex differences in social development are not stable across early childhood. Plos ONE, 6(1), 1-7. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0016407

Brown, C. S., Alabi, B. O., Huynh, V. W., & Masten, C. L. (2011). Ethnicity and gender in late childhood and early adolescence: Group identity and awareness of bias. Developmental Psychology, 47(2), 463-471. doi:10.1037/a0021819

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN). (2012). Playgrounds and prejudice: Elementary school climate in the United States. A survey of students and teachers. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED528732)

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN). (2012). Ready, Set, Respect! GLSEN's Elementary School Toolkit. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED528733)

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN). (2009). The experiences of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender middle school students: Findings from the 2007 National School Climate Survey. (GSLEN Research Brief). Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED506942)

Hulley, K. S. (2001). Gender bias: What are the current issues? Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED460156)

Ikram, R. (2011). The influence of gender bias on children in childcare settings. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED521454)

Karaarslan, G., & Sungur, S. (2011). Elementary students' self-efficacy beliefs in science: Role of grade level, gender, and socio-economic status. Science Education International, 22(1), 72-79.

Nusbaum, J., Walker, B., & Finch-Webster, J. (2001, December 1). Stereotypical attitudes towards gender: An ongoing problem. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED460928)

Robinson, J. P., Lubienski, S. T., & Copur, Y. (2011). The effects of teachers' gender-stereotypical expectations on the development of the math gender gap. Society for Research on Educational Effectiveness. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED528920)

Sumi, V. S. (2012). Education and gender discrimination. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED543630)

Tejeda-Delgado, M. C. (2009). Teacher efficacy, tolerance, gender, and years of experience and special education referrals. International Journal of Special Education, 24(1), 112-119.

Towery, I. D. (2007). Fostering gender equity in schools through reflective professional development: A critical analysis of teacher perspectives. Penn GSE Perspectives on Urban Education, 5(1), 1-25.