This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
This is a space for the teal alert bar.
This is a space for the yellow alert bar.
Welcome to the NU Library course guide for SOC 455 - Sociology of Work and Organizations. This guide is designed to help students find resources to complete the Annotated Bibliography.
For this assignment, you will write an annotated bibliography for your Field Research Project. Your annotated bibliography (and ultimately your final paper) must include a minimum of four scholarly sources not assigned in class reading and that were published 2010-present. Acceptable sources: scholarly peer-reviewed books, chapters, and academic and/or professional journals. Websites: .gov and .org websites (.com will NOT count as one of the four).
While this guide will provide you with support to complete the research aspects of your assignment, please address all questions regarding content, formatting, and grading to your instructor.
For more information and library resources, see the Sociology Guide.
Library Staffed HoursHours shown below are Pacific Time. Check your local time here.
Monday - Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Please see the library calendar for holiday closings/adjusted hours.
Content: Scholarly journals, e-books, videos and more.
Purpose: A key multidisciplinary database for most topics. It is one of the library’s main search engines and the most comprehensive single search.
Note: Certain library databases and publisher content are not searchable in NavigatorSearch, and individual databases may need to be searched to retrieve information due to unique content. NavigatorSearch can be found at https://resources.nu.edu.
Content: Business research database covering topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, management information systems, and more.
Purpose: This is a key database for business, accounting, and economics students.
Special Features: SWOT analysis functionality, market research reports, country reports, industry profiles, and more.
Content: Sociology research database with open access and peer-review, non-open access journal articles dating back to 1895.
Purpose: Great for comprehensive research in sociology.
Special Features: SocINDEX with Full Text includes 3,115 active indexed and abstracted journals. 2,994 of them are peer-reviewed.
💡 Here are some sample searches that you might be interested in (note that these open in our NavigatorSearch).
Notice that there are filters along the left side of the results, which you can use to refine your search further - these sample searches have already been limited to show only peer-reviewed articles published since 2010 that are immediately available in full text.
You can also refine your search (aka: show fewer results) by adding more concepts/keywords to the search with AND. Learn more
Rethinking Organizational Culture
Work, Working, and Work Relationships in a Changing World
