Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use our recommended databases to find journal articles in your subject area. Learn more about finding articles, or request articles that the library does not have access to.
Recommended Databases
 |
JSTOR: JSTOR is an archive of core research journals containing the full text of scholarly journals. Some of the journal issues go back to the 19th century, but there is a gap of typically 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR. Help using this database.
 |
Project Muse: Project MUSE is a full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Help using this database.
Additional Resources
If you didn't find enough resources in our recommended databases, check out some of these additional databases.
Content: Scholarly journals, academic content, periodicals and videos covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
Purpose: A good starting point for research with coverage across many disciplines and fields.
Special Features: Text-to-speech listening feature. Tool to help discover citing articles.
Here are some sample searches that you might be interested in. The following database searches illustrate the variety of searches available among the different databases. Feel free to begin with these searches then modify them to focus on your own research questions.
Can't find an article in the library catalog? Check out our helpful document delivery services to request articles.
Click on this link to view the tutorial: https://nu.libguides.com/training/library-research-df
In this recorded instruction session with librarian David Feare, liaison to Professional Studies and Social Sciences, you will learn more about using library resources to conduct different levels of research. Topics covered include:
When researching a question, don't use complete sentences. Instead, use the most important keywords! For example:
How are mobile devices affecting education?
The most important keywords are:
mobile devices AND education
Use Boolean operators to modify your search. This is very useful when you are searching for journal articles!
Boolean Operators
AND OR NOT
AND will narrow your search results:
"global warming" AND glaciers
OR will expand your search results:
"mobile devices" OR smartphones
NOT will exclude certain results:
cowboys NOT football
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. This will help you find more specific results! For example:
social media = 8221 results
"social media" = 1140 results
Use an asterisk (*) after a set of letters to perform a truncated search. This will find variations of a word. For example:
musc*
will find results containing the words...
muscle, muscular, musculoskeletal, etc.
|
Not all databases will provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them. Learn more here: Finding Full Text |
|
Not sure if your article is scholarly? Don't know what peer-reviewed is? Learn more here: About Scholarly Articles |
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles