Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use our recommended databases to find journal articles in your subject area. Learn more about finding articles, or request articles that the library does not have access to.
Start with these multidisciplinary databases to find articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, etc.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: One centralized search for all of NU's subscribed ProQuest databases.
Purpose: Search multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from ProQuest including ProQuest Dissertations.
Health Care & Medical Databases
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
Content: EBSCO database of nursing and allied health journals with nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Purpose: Informs users about topics such as pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
Content: A comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Purpose: Provides content for learning and researching biomedical science and related subject areas.
Special Features: Includes instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.
Content: Biomedical and health journals. Provides MESH subject headings and offers the full text of many popular MEDLINE-indexed journals that are not available in other databases.
Purpose: Informs users about health and medicine topics
Special Features: Includes text-to-speech function for some articles
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality
Legal Databases
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Thesis & Dissertation Databases
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature
More Health Care & Medical Databases
Content: An alternative and complementary medicine journals database. Some focused searches may result in more magazine articles than peer-reviewed journal articles.
Purpose: An alternative medicine database for nursing and health students.
Special Features: Includes a browsable index of subject terms, and text-to-speech feature for some articles.
Content: Contains bibliographic records for relevant articles from hundreds of journals.
Purpose: Designed for physicians, therapists, medical researchers, and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments.
Content: Includes consumer health information and provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and health pamphlets
Purpose: Aimed at the consumer or patient, this database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics.
Special Features: Includes Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
You may also want to check out these discipline-specific databases. Limiting to specific disciplines can sometimes help narrow search results.
Clinical Databases
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
Content: A point-of-care, evidence-based clinical resource.
Purpose: Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.
Special Features: You will be prompted to create an account the first time you log into UpToDate that will allow you to search UpToDate and save reports using the default windows in Chrome or Firefox. The registration link might not work if you use a Chrome incognito window or Firefox private window.
UpToDate Units
Cross-Disciplinary Databases
Content: APA database that offers full-text for journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. View the APA PsycArticles Journal History for a complete coverage list.
Purpose: Important database for psychology, counseling, and education students.
Special Features: The database is updated bi-weekly all content is available in PDF and HTML formats.
Content: Provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Purpose: Full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.
Special Features: Includes many journals indexed in APA PsycInfo.
Content: Sociology research database with open access and peer-review, non-open access journal articles dating back to 1895.
Purpose: Great for comprehensive research in sociology.
Special Features: SocINDEX with Full Text includes 3,115 active indexed and abstracted journals. 2,994 of them are peer-reviewed.
Browse the following journals to stay current on recent research trends:
Annual Review of Nursing Research
AORN Journal (Association of Operating Room Nurses)
Critical Care Nursing Quarterly
Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing
Journal of Healthcare Management
The following EBSCO database searches illustrates the variety of sources available. Feel free to begin with these searches then modify to focus on your own research questions. Explore the difference of limiting results to peer review or removing peer review from the search.
Other ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source includes evidenced-based and comptency articles as part of the Joanna Briggs Institute materials: Browse ...Use the Browse tab to locate the following collections:
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
What is ScienceDirect?
This is a free article request service for our students. Just use the "Order Document" link at the top of a ScienceDirect page. Note that articles are not available immediately, but will be delivered via email within 24 hours.
Accessing Library Materials Through Google Scholar
Learn how to setup Google Scholar to search the Web and the National University Library at the same time. (2:02)
When researching a question, don't use complete sentences. Instead, use the most important keywords! For example:
How are mobile devices affecting education?
The most important keywords are:
mobile devices AND education
Use Boolean operators to modify your search. This is very useful when you are searching for journal articles!
Boolean Operators
AND OR NOT
AND will narrow your search results:
"global warming" AND glaciers
OR will expand your search results:
"mobile devices" OR smartphones
NOT will exclude certain results:
cowboys NOT football
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. This will help you find more specific results! For example:
social media = 8221 results
"social media" = 1140 results
Use an asterisk (*) after a set of letters to perform a truncated search. This will find variations of a word. For example:
musc*
will find results containing the words...
muscle, muscular, musculoskeletal, etc.
