Skip to main content

Find Articles: Find Articles

Get Started with Smart Search

Find articles, books, videos, and more with Smart Search. Refine your results by material type, date, and more.

For additional search options, use Advanced Search. To log into your account, see Managing Your Smart Search Account.


Mobile users: If you can't see the Search button, push Go on your device's keypad instead, or visit the Smart Search homepage for a mobile layout.

Alternative Ways to Search Across Multiple Article Databases

  Search All EBSCO Databases

Begin searching All EBSCO Databases: Search

  Search All ProQuest Databases

Begin searching All ProQuest Databases: Search

Using Discipline Databases

The National University Library has over 180 article databases. Using a subject database, as opposed to a general or all-topics database, is sometimes an easier way to identify articles from a specific discipline's perspective.  Below are a couple of ways to identify relevant subject databases:

Use the Library Research Guide home page to browse for a subject guide.  The Find Articles tab of each subject guide will have a box that lists "core article databases" or a database comparison chart for that discipline.

Try one of the following selected subject databases:

Core Article Databases

The following core databases cover multiple-subjects and are a great place to begin.

More Information

  Check out our alphabetical list of electronic resources for more library databases.

 If you're looking for a specific journal, search for it here to find out if the Library has access to it in print or electronic form.

 

  Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.

Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles

Not sure if your article is scholarly? Don't know what peer-reviewed is?

Learn more here: About Scholarly Articles

 

Full Text Articles

Not all databases will provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them.

Learn more here: Finding Full Text 

Loading

What's New!

Nov. 18: Students in San Diego: The Library is seeking three new Student Research Fellows for SHHS, SOEC, and SOBM. If you're interested in research, learn more about the opportunity here.

Nov. 11: This Veterans Day, we would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to all of those who have served our country and helped keep us safe. Thank you for your service! We also thought it would be fitting to highlight a veteran in our first Student Spotlight. Check it out here!

Nov. 9: Just a reminder that the Library will be open on Veterans Day (Nov. 11). We'll be around if you need any assistance!

Nov. 8: Holiday Cheer continues with the NUSNA! Thank you to those who have donated so far. The wishing tree has been transformed this month, and will remain up until Nov. 20. Learn more here!

Contact Us

Library Staff

We enjoy assisting our students, faculty, and staff. Let us know how we can help you!

  Email: refdesk@nu.edu
  Text: (858) 367-0904
  Call: (858) 541-7900
  Toll free:  (866) 682-2237 ext. 7900
  Ask Us (Chat & FAQ)
  Schedule a Consultation
  Library Hours & Location
  Find us on Facebook

Search Tips

When researching a question, don't use complete sentences. Instead, use the most important keywords! For example:

How are mobile devices affecting education?

The most important keywords are:

mobile devices AND education

Use Boolean operators to modify your search. This is very useful when you are searching for journal articles!

Boolean Operators

AND     OR     NOT

AND will narrow your search results:
"global warming" AND glaciers

OR will expand your search results:
"mobile devices" OR smartphones

NOT will exclude certain results:
cowboys NOT football

Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. This will help you find more specific results! For example:

social media = 8221 results

"social media" = 1140 results

Use an asterisk (*) after a set of letters to perform a truncated search. This will find variations of a word. For example:

musc* 

will find results containing the words... 

muscle, muscular, musculoskeletal, etc.

Loading