Skip to main content

NUA Teacher Guide: Find Books

Search The Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Books, E-Books, & More

Find books, e-books, reference materials, and videos in the library catalog. Refine your results by material type, date, and more.

For additional search options, use Advanced Search. To log into your account, see Managing Your Smart Search Account.


Mobile users: If you can't see the Search button, push Go on your device's keypad instead, or visit the Smart Search homepage for a mobile layout.

Find Reference E-Books

Use these databases to access online reference materials. Get started by clicking a logo below.

Literati Academic by Credo Reference
Oxford Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Sage Knowledge 

More Information

  Get Books Delivered

You may request books be sent to your regional academic learning center. If you are outside of San Diego, you may request that books be sent directly to your home.

This is a free service. Return postage is included.

Books Direct Request Form

  Borrow Books From Other Libraries

Books not owned by the National University Library may be requested from other libraries. Delivery times may vary.

This is a free service. Course textbooks may not be requested through Interlibrary Loan service.

Interlibrary Loan Book Request Form

  LibX Toolbar  

LibX is a web browser extension that provides easy and direct access to National University Library’s resources, no matter where you are on the Web.

Find Education Books

The Library Catalog lists books which may be collections of essays or monographs.  In addition, the catalog includes journal titles and videos (DVD & Streaming) that are part of our collections. 

Try the following Library Catalog searches then refine/filter the results by format, date, or subject to see how the results change:

Find Education E-Books

For more information about e-books and e-book collections at National University Library, please see the E-Book Research Guide.

The Library Catalog lists e-books as well as print collections of essays and monographs.  The following searches show how you might limit your Library Catalog search to e-book format for easier access online.

Recommend A Book

Found a great book that you would like us to add to the library's collection? Let us know!

Book Purchase Request