Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Reference materials, such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries, are useful for finding background information, statistics, theories, and more. Check out some of the resources highlighted on this page.
Use these reference databases to search for topics, people, laws, theories, and more. Start with these best bets!
Content: Reference e-book collection
Purpose: Users may read the full text of e-books from a range of academic disciplines
Special Features: Includes a visualization tool and browse-by-topic feature that aids in brainstorming topics, a Lexile feature that filters texts by difficulty, the ability to highlight and add notes to text, and a read-aloud feature.
Here are a few more reference databases with specialized information. Depending on your topic, these may be worth checking out!
Content: E-books covering science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities, and social science.
Special Features: Browse by topic or keyword search. Includes forthcoming titles.
Content: A collection of reference e-books published by Oxford University Press
Purpose: A collection of reference e-books
Content: Reference sources, primarily books but also videos and business cases.
Purpose: Use for finding reference sources like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide contextual or explanatory material.
Special Features: Includes Sage Navigator
Specialized historical dictionaries and encyclopedias exist for a wide variety of topics, from individual nations to labor, science, economics, and others.
Over 270 volumes in the Cambridge Histories series covering American History, British History, Regional History (including China and Africa) are available full-text online in Cambridge Histories Online.
