Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Content: Scholarly journals, academic content, periodicals and videos covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
Purpose: A good starting point for research with coverage across many disciplines and fields.
Special Features: Text-to-speech listening feature. Tool to help discover citing articles.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
Content: Scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles only, in health science, biomedical science, engineering, social science, and the humanities.
Purpose: Use for scholarly research in most fields.
Special Features: Includes discipline hubs for browsing and citation search.
Contents: Journals in management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
Purpose: Find peer-reviewed journals in selected disciplines.
Special Features: View National University's holdings by selecting “My Products” from the menu bar.
The following databases provide news coverage for regional, national, and international newspapers:
| LexisNexis Academic | LexisNexis Academic provides one of the Library's largest collections of national and international newspapers. The "Search the News" widget provides a box for you to enter your search terms and two ways for you to choose where you search. Selecting by Source Type lets you search all the sources within each of the following types: Major World Publications, Newspapers, Magazines, Wire Services, Broadcast Transcripts, Blogs, All News. |
| EBSCO Newspaper Source | Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. |
| EBSCO Regional Business News | This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. |
| ProQuest Newsstand | ProQuest Newsstand offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles. |
|
Check out our alphabetical list of electronic resources for more library databases. |
|
Not all databases provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them. Learn more here: Find Full Text |
|
Not sure if your article is scholarly? Don't know what peer-reviewed means? Learn more here: Find Scholarly Articles |
Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.
Brief Glossary:
Academic: Refers to the audience of a publication
Scholarly: Refers to the audience of a publication
Refereed: Articles are monitored before publication
Peer-Review: "Blind review" by scholars and experts
Begin with the following discipline-based searches, then modify the focus for your own topic.
| Ebsco: | Organizational communication |
| Ebsco: | Strategic communication |
| Ebsco: | Intercultural communication |
| Ebsco: | Political aspects mass media |
| Ebsco: | Crisis communication |
| Ebsco: | Social aspects of mass media |
| Ebsco: | Strategic communication in business |
More Databases
