Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use our recommended databases to find journal articles in your subject area. Learn more about finding articles, or request articles that the library does not have access to.
Start with these specialized databases to find articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, etc.
Content: Sociology research database with open access and peer-review, non-open access journal articles dating back to 1895.
Purpose: Great for comprehensive research in sociology.
Special Features: SocINDEX with Full Text includes 3,115 active indexed and abstracted journals. 2,994 of them are peer-reviewed.
Content: U.S. and international newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers.
Purpose: Search for news from across the world in one search interface.
Special Features: Change which news streams you are searching to narrow your results.
If you didn't find enough resources in our recommended databases, check out some of these additional databases.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: One centralized search for all of NU's subscribed ProQuest databases.
Purpose: Search multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from ProQuest including ProQuest Dissertations.
Here are some sample searches that you might be interested in.
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
|
Not all databases will provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them. Learn more here: Finding Full Text |
|
Not sure if your article is scholarly? Don't know what peer-reviewed is? Learn more here: About Scholarly Articles |
Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.
Brief Glossary:
Academic: Refers to the audience of a publication
Scholarly: Refers to the audience of a publication
Refereed: Articles are monitored before publication
Peer-Review: "Blind review" by scholars and experts
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Articles