Through its curriculum, the Center engages young people to become informed, responsible citizens. The Center’s curricula include We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution; Project Citizen; the School Violence Prevention Demonstration Program; Representative Democracy in America; Citizens, Not Spectators; and Foundations of Democracy.
The Center’s videos, podcasts, slide shows, and RSS feeds offer an effective way to learn about our programs, keep up to date with Center events, and engage with supplementary content that is focused on constitutional democracy and public policy. Our multimedia resources spotlight students, competitions, special events, special guests and leaders, speeches and lectures, professional development, imaginative and motivating educational materials, and Constitution-related subjects.
The David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 25 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, although it also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date.
Your ringside seat to history - from the Ancient World to the present. History through the eyes of those who lived it. Voices of the 20th Century includes info on different periods of history, but of particular interest are the images, audio clips, and video clips of the 20th century.
More than 1,500 federally supported teaching and learning resources are included from dozens of federal agencies. New sites are added regularly. Searchable by subject or by fomat (annimation, primary documents, photos, video).
Index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. Includes searchable text of the documents, as well as audio and video files. About 25% of the materials indexed are still in copyright so they may not be available.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education.
The Library of Congress American Memory project, Primary Sources by State, State Resource Guides, and other digital initiatives provide free access through the Internet to the treasures of the Library’s collections that document America’s history, culture, and creativity.
A database of some 1,200 documents, photographs, drawings, maps, and other materials and a keywording system that visually links records, the Digital Vaults enables visitors to customize their exhibit experience and to create posters, movies, and games that can be shared by e-mail. Each record in Digital Vaults is also linked to the National Archives' Archival Research Catalog (ARC), so visitors who want to know more can take the first steps toward a research journey into the National Archives.
National Center for History in the Schools (NCHS) has a threefold mission: to develop and provide teachers with curricular materials that will engage students in exciting explorations of U.S. and World History; professional development for K-12 history teachers; and to collaborate with schools in building their history curricula.
NCSS has selected a collection of classroom activities, teaching ideas, and articles from Social Education, Middle Level Learning, and Social Studies and the Young Learner. Lesson plans and documents also availaable.
From the National Endowment for the Humanities, a variety of lesson plans and Web sites on a range of subject areas: Art & Culture, Literature & Language Arts, Foreign Language, and History & Social Studies.
Search or browse over 1,500 features from more than 110 American Experience Web sites -- including timelines, primary sources, teacher's guides, maps, galleries, interactives, video, and more -- to find history, civics, and other social studies resources for your classroom.
Stories about people from 1900-1999, based on the PBS television series. Includes content related to specific episodes, including interviews & audio clips, teacher's guides, stories, and program descriptions.
The American Historical Association (AHA) is a nonprofit membership organization founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 for the promotion of historical studies, the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, and the dissemination of historical research.
The National Social Science Association is the largest interdisciplinary association in the United States. Its members consist of social scientists in two and four year colleges and represent the following disciplines: history, geography, education, economics, psychology, anthropology, sociology, ethnic studies, women's studies, interdisciplinary studies, political science, and other related studies.
The Oral History Association is deeply committed to the use of oral history as an educational methodology. The Education Committee promotes the use of oral history in the classroom at all levels of instruction and works to assure that the OHA addresses the needs of teachers.