Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Download or print popular Library handouts and guides.
We enjoy assisting our students, faculty, and staff. Let us know how we can help!
 Email: |
refdesk@nu.edu |
 Text: |
(928) 550-6552 |
 Call: |
(888) 628-1569 |
 Ask Us (Chat & FAQ) |
 Schedule a Consultation |
 Library Hours |
 Find us on Facebook |
Dec. 22: The library will be closed from December 23, 2023 to January 1, 2024 for winter break. We will reopen on January 2, 2024. Happy holidays!
Nov. 22: The library will close at 5PM (Pacific) on Wednesday, Nov. 22 for Thanksgiving. We will resume normal hours on Saturday, Nov. 25. Thank you!
Nov. 21: Read about how some of our library staff give back to their community through volunteer work in our latest blog post.
Start with these multidisciplinary databases to find articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, magazines, trade journals, newspapers, etc.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: One centralized search for all of NU's subscribed ProQuest databases.
Purpose: Search multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from ProQuest including ProQuest Dissertations.
Health Care & Medical Databases
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
Content: Scholarly journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations, and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses.
Purpose: Use for comprehensive research coverage of COVID-19, as well as past pandemics and epidemic such as MERS and SARS
Special Features: Includes a read-aloud feature
Content: EBSCO database of nursing and allied health journals with nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Purpose: Informs users about topics such as pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
Content: A comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Purpose: Provides content for learning and researching biomedical science and related subject areas.
Special Features: Includes instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.
Content: Biomedical and health journals. Provides MESH subject headings and offers the full text of many popular MEDLINE-indexed journals that are not available in other databases.
Purpose: Informs users about health and medicine topics
Special Features: Includes text-to-speech function for some articles
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality
Content: A point-of-care, evidence-based clinical resource.
Purpose: Useful for quick information about conditions, drugs, etc.
Special Features: You will be prompted to create an account the first time you log into UpToDate that will allow you to search UpToDate and save reports using the default windows in Chrome or Firefox. The registration link might not work if you use a Chrome incognito window or Firefox private window.
Legal Databases
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Thesis & Dissertation Databases
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature
Use the following Public Health / Community Health searches to get started in the ALL EBSCO databases:
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
What is ScienceDirect?
This collection has 477 journals published by Elsevier. Limit your search by "Subscribed journals" to see the full-text articles. If you see an abstract that you are interested in, click on "Get Access" to request the article from the Library.
Accessing Library Materials Through Google Scholar
Learn how to setup Google Scholar to search the Web and the National University Library at the same time. (2:02)
