Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use this page to identify relevant organizational development journals and article databases. Explore and modify sample searches to focus on your own topic or browse selected journals.
If you're looking for business journal articles, we recommend that you start with one of these library databases.
Contents: Journals in management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
Purpose: Find peer-reviewed journals in selected disciplines.
Special Features: View National University's holdings by selecting “My Products” from the menu bar.
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Try one of the following "starter" searches then modify to focus on your own research questions.
Organizational Behavior AND Productivity
Organizational Behavior AND Teams
Organizational Change AND Career Development
How do I verify that my article is peer-reviewed?
Look up the name of the journal that published the article in one of these directories:
More...
Content: Global student dissertations and literature reviews.
Purpose: Use for foundational research, to locate test instruments and data, and more.
Special Features: Search by advisor (chair), degree, degree level, or department. Includes a read-aloud feature
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
Content: JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. National University subscribes to these JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections: I - IX.
Purpose: JSTOR is an archive of core research journals containing the full text of scholarly journals. Some of the journal issues go back to the 19th century, but there is a gap of typically 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR. To locate recent issues of a journal, use the Library Catalog or Online Journal List. Help using this database.
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Content: Legal material from California's Continuing Education of the Bar.
Purpose: Provides an all-in-one legal research solution.
8/19/20: If OnLAW does not load properly in Chrome, you may need to clear site data first.
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Content: Cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international, and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Purpose: Provides a wide-range of coverage of newspapers and other news organizations for a broader view of current events.
Content: United States contemporary and historical (from the 1980s) news from newspapers and other news outlets.
Purpose: Find US news reporting.
Special Features: Includes a read-aloud feature and NAICS search.
Content: Database covering business publications for the United States and Canada.
Purpose: Database for business and economics students
Special Features: Radio/TV transcripts, trade publications, information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, business planning, and more
All Electronic Resources
Check out our alphabetical list of electronic resources for more library databases.
Full Text Articles
Not all databases provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them. Learn more here:
Use the forms below to request delivery of articles and books from library collections or from other libraries (interlibrary loan).
Books...
Articles (including Science Direct)...
Found a great journal or article database that you would like us to add to the library's collection? Let us know!
Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.
Learn more: Peer-Review Guide
Brief Glossary:
Academic: Refers to the audience of a publication
Scholarly: Refers to the audience of a publication
Refereed: Articles are monitored before publication
Peer-Review: "Blind review" by scholars and experts
When researching a question, don't use complete sentences. Instead, use the most important keywords! For example:
How are mobile devices affecting education?
The most important keywords are:
mobile devices AND education
Use Boolean operators to modify your search. This is very useful when you are searching for journal articles!
Boolean Operators
AND OR NOT
AND will narrow your search results:
"global warming" AND glaciers
OR will expand your search results:
"mobile devices" OR smartphones
NOT will exclude certain results:
cowboys NOT football
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. This will help you find more specific results! For example:
social media = 8221 results
"social media" = 1140 results
Use an asterisk (*) after a set of letters to perform a truncated search. This will find variations of a word. For example:
musc*
will find results containing the words...
muscle, muscular, musculoskeletal, etc.
