Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
J. 1. How Can I Find Out Who Audits a Particular Company?
You'll find the identity of the company's auditor in its annual report on Form 10-K. Look for the "Accountant's Report" under Item 8 of the Form 10-K. Whenever a company hires a new auditor to certify its financial statements, it must announce that news on Form 8-K (under Item 4) within four business days. Be sure to check any Form 8-K filings submitted after the company's most recent annual report to find out whether the company subsequently hired a new auditor.
J. 2. Where can I find information about the changes to a company’s auditor?
You can find this information in Item 4.01 of Form 8-K. For changes made prior to August 2004, the information was reported at Item 4.
...Excerpted from Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR: A Guide for Investors
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
The "Search the News" widget provides a box for you to enter your search terms and two ways for you to choose where you search. Selecting by Source Type lets you search all the sources within each of the following types: Major World Publications, Newspapers, Magazines, Wire Services, Broadcast Transcripts, Blogs, All News.
Content: Cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international, and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
Purpose: Provides a wide-range of coverage of newspapers and other news organizations for a broader view of current events.
Content: Database covering business publications for the United States and Canada.
Purpose: Database for business and economics students
Special Features: Radio/TV transcripts, trade publications, information about presidential candidates, franchise restaurants, business planning, and more
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Content: U.S. and international newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers.
Purpose: Search for news from across the world in one search interface.
Special Features: Change which news streams you are searching to narrow your results.
The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Attorneys involved in the fraud cases will be part of the court record. Search the following databases for more information:
Articles about fraud include names of key individuals and case names. You will want a balance of news articles and more analytical or reflective articles from scholarly journals.
Look for articles & reports on companies that include "SWOT Analysis" or "Company Overview."
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: Business research database covering economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Purpose: This is a key database for business and leadership students.
Special Features: Country and market reports, SWOT analysis functionality, browsable by topic pathway.
Content: Business research database covering topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, management information systems, and more.
Purpose: This is a key database for business, accounting, and economics students.
Special Features: SWOT analysis functionality, market research reports, country reports, industry profiles, and more.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
