3. Substance Abuse Disorder Prevention - COH 621 - Public Health Aspects of Drug Addiction

Assignment #3 - Substance Abuse Disorder Prevention Program

Substance Abuse Disorder Prevention Program

Publications & Websites

Alcohol: Problems and Solutions
This site is authored by D.J. Hanson, Ph.D., State University of New York at Potsdam. Topics include Alcohol Issues in the News; Advertising Impact on Alcohol Abuse; Alcohol, Law, & Policy; and Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.
National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
A searchable online registry of more than 340 substance abuse and mental health interventions. The information for each intervention includes studies used and contact information.
SAMHSA Publications
Publications by the Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration here.
World Drug Report
From the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. Provides an annual overview of the major developments in drug markets for the various drug categories, ranging from production to trafficking and consumption.

Data & Statistics

Global Information System on Alcohol & Health (WHO)
Data and statistics on levels of consumption, patterns of consumption, and alcohol control policies from around the world. It also provides a link to WHO Status Report on Alcohol and Health and to regional information systems.
Monitoring the Future
An ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American young adults, particularly in regard to alcohol and drugs. The data are based on annual surveys.
SAMHSA Data
Provides the latest national data on drug abuse, drug related emergency department episodes and medical examiner cases, and the US substance abuse treatment system. Includes downloadable data sets.

Publications & Websites

California Tobacco Surveys
The California Department of Public Health conducted interviews on cigarette smoking behavior, attitudes towards smoking, media exposure to smoking, and use of tobacco products other than cigarettes, from adults and teenagers living in California.
CDC Smoking & Tobacco Use
Statistical information for the United States. Also has citations of recently published tobacco-related articles from behavioral, scientific, and technical literature compiled by the Office on Smoking and Health.
Tobacco-Related Disease Research Program
Funds research that enhances understanding of tobacco use, prevention and cessation, the social, economic and policy-related aspects of tobacco use, and tobacco-related diseases in California.
Tobacco Control Archives
Includes documents concerning scientific research, manufacturing, marketing, and sales of cigarettes, tobacco industry documents that provide insight into industry plans to weaken enforcement of and support for California's 1995 smoke-free workplace legislation, and to undermine the California tobacco control program.

Data & Statistics

CDC National Adult Tobacco Survey
The National Adult Tobacco Survey (NATS) was created to assess the prevalence of tobacco use, as well as the factors promoting and impeding tobacco use among adults. Datasets are available for download.
CDC Smoking & Tobacco Use Data
Find data and other information from various sources, such as CDC surveillance systems, journal articles, and reports.
CDC State Tobacco Activities Tracking & Evaluation
The State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation (STATE) System is an data warehouse containing up-to-date and historical state-level data on tobacco use prevention and control.

Publications & Websites

Drugs@FDA
A Catalog of FDA approved and tentatively approved prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued drugs, and Drug approval letters, labels, and review packages. Searchable by drug name, active ingredient, application number, action dates of application approvals and supplements.
Drug Information Portal (Nat'l Library of Medicine)
Covers prescription and over-the-counter drugs from clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).
FDA Drug Information Page
Has information about new and generic drug approvals as well as warning and violation letters.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information
Information on prescription and over-the-counter medications, as well as herbs and dietary supplements, including efficacy, dosage, drug interactions, and side effects.
WHO Essential Drugs and Medicines
The site includes a large number of documents on all aspects of essential drugs and medicines: access, quality, medicinal plants, traditional medicines, policy, marketing and more. The Model List of Essential Medicines presents a list of minimum medicine needs for a basic health care system, listing the most efficacious, safe and cost-effective medicines for priority conditions.

Data & Statistics