Skip to main content

Faculty Resources

Finding and Using Videos

  Viewing Videos

The library provides access to many streaming videos that can be viewed from anywhere, any time. All you need to do is log in to the library. 

Many VHS and DVD films can also be found in the library catalog. Faculty may request films for classroom use. VHS and DVD films are also available for in-library preview, but cannot be checked out.

  Video Search Tips

  • Click "Viewable Online" on the results page for streaming videos

  • Click "Available in the Library" on the results page for VHS and DVD films

  • Search for a course number (e.g., NSG 412) to find films used in a course

  Recommend a Video

Is there a video that you would like us to add to the library's collection? Let us know using the link below!

Video Purchase Request

The Library provides access to streaming videos that can be viewed from anywhere, any time. All you need to do is log in to the library.

To locate streaming videos on a topic, search the Library Catalog. Limit results to Audiovisual, Viewable Online.

The streaming media collections below include titles not found in the Library Catalog.


To embed a link to a video in one of our databases just look for a "permalink" or "persistent link" or "title URL".

To use the embedded code for viewing within Blackboard look for a link to the embed code and copy and paste in Blackboard. Please note: if you try to embed the video in Blackboard and you get a blank screen, this is because of a security setting in the browser, just click on the shield symbol in the address bar and allow the unsecure content to be displayed. 

The Library's audio visual collection is for classroom use.  Over 10,000 DVD/VHS titles are available to be shipped to Academic Learning Centers for show dates selected by faculty.  Your suggestions for new titles are always appreciated, please let your Library liaison know.

Loading

Streaming Video Collections

The library's databases have streaming videos not found in the library catalog. Check them out below.
 

Films on Demand logo

The library subscribes to the academic collection from Films on Demand, which provides streaming access to more than 7,000 educational video titles.

Films On Demand

Films on Demand Tutorials

Alexander Street Press

A comprehensive collection of streaming videos is available from Alexander Street Press.

American History in Video
Counseling & Therapy in Video
Education in Video
Filmakers Library

Nursing Education in Video
World History in Video 

Alexander Street Press Tutorials

Check out some of our other streaming video databases using the links below.

PsycTHERAPY - Over 300 videos from the APA  featuring therapy demonstrations.
 
Psychotherapy.net - Streaming videos in psychotherapy selected by NU faculty.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons is an excellent way to share access to resources with colleagues.  Use of Creative Commons materials may have some limits; read the license notes carefully and provide attribution using the CC logo.