The Writing Center

Writing Center is available online to help students improve their writing.
Citation Issues
E-book Readers: One of the challenges of new technologies is finding a way to cite content that can be easily tracked down by readers. New e-book readers pose such an issue. Enjoy the blog entry below:
Chronicle of Higher Education. News. Technology. (February 6, 2012). E-Books' Varied Formats
Columbia Online Style for Citing Web Research: "The Columbia Online Style Guide takes a generic, almost intuitive approach to citations." It provides simple, clear examples for different types of items frequently used on websites.
What are Citation Style Guides?
Style guides are developed by publishers to provide guidelines for the presentation of research. These rules or procedures encourage ease of reading, accuracy, and respect in scholarly communication. Colleges and universities often require students to follow one of the recognized style guides when submitting written work for classes. Faculty use the guides for overall formatting of papers and for consistency in how works are cited both in-text and in the reference list. An added benefit is that using style guides prepares students for future publication. In addition to the publication guides listed below, there are variations of guides developed for specialized fields.
- American Psychological Association (APA) Publication Manual Website
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Modern Language Association (MLA) Handbook Website
- Library Quick Links to Citation Guide Handouts:
Popular Titles
Companion Website: Little, Brown Essential Handbook
Fully integrated companion Web site, cross-referenced in every chapter of the handbook and including 34 video tutorials, 100 interactive exercises, sample research papers, usage flashcards, and links to useful Web sites in every discipline.
Additonal Resources
LexisNexis Wiki: Citing References Provides overview of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian basic bibliography formats; Includes examples for citing news, business, and legal resources
Contact a Librarian

Your Library Team
We enjoy working with our NU students and faculty. Please let us know how we can help you with your class projects and research assignments.
E-mail us: refdesk@nu.edu
Text us: (858) 367-0904
Call us: (858) 541-7900
Toll Free: (866) 682-2237 x 7900
Did You Know?
EndNote Web is available through the Web of Science database. This great bibliography maker and reference organizer helps you maintain over 10,000 records and reformat them on demand to the citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc) of your choice. It even allows you to share and collaborate with colleagues. For more information, see the Citation Resources Guide
Loading...
