Skip to main content

E-Books: E-Books@National University

Electronic book databases available from National University Library

Featured Collections

New E-Book Collections

The following e-book collections have recently been added to the National University Library.  

Restrictions on Use

Electronic resources available through the National University Library System are licensed by the University for non-commercial use by National University faculty, staff, students and on-site users, for educational or research purposes only.

The terms and conditions of the Library's agreements with the vendors and publishers of these electronic resources regulate your use of these resources. These conditions include but are not limited to restrictions on copying, republishing, altering, redistributing and reselling the information contained therein.

More...

Search Ebrary

ebrary
Search National University Library’s largest database of e-books including 100,000 titles from Ebrary’s Academic Complete collection.

Search The Library Catalog

Library Catalog
Books, E-Books, & More

Find books, e-books, reference materials, and videos in the library catalog. Refine your results by material type, date, and more.

For additional search options, use Advanced Search. To log into your account, see Managing Your Smart Search Account.  


After you enter your search, use the left menu on the results screen  to limit searches to "Books", and then "Viewable Online".Click on the "View it" tab to open e-books

 Mobile users: If you can't see the Search button, push Go on your device's keypad instead, or visit the Smart Search homepage for a mobile layout.

E-Book Collections

 

Collection

Description Printing/Saving Tips Help

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project

A digital collection of nearly 2,800 humanities full-text titles offered by the ACLS in collaboration with 20 learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. Print .pdf or .html book pages. Permission must be received for any subsequent distribution in print or electronically. Help

Cambridge Histories Online

A growing online collection of mainly out-of-copyright books drawn from the collections of major research libraries around the world, including the British Library and the universities of California and Toronto. Users can search the collection as a whole or can search within individual books. Print, copy and download permissions may vary from collection to collection depending on the sensitivity and rights available for the content. Unless otherwise stated below, users may make copies, printed or otherwise, of one chapter or up to 5% of the pages from each CHO title, whichever is the greater. Help is available within Cambridge Histories Online in the top menu.

College Catalogs Online

Complete Undergraduate and Graduate catalogs from United States and International colleges. You may distribute course description data from a Service in non-electronic form to a few individuals for your own personal, non-commercial use, without charge, provided you include all copyright and other proprietary rights notices in the same form in which the notices appear in the Service, original source attribution, and the phrase "Used with permission from CollegeSource, Inc."  

CRCnetBASE

More than 6,000 electronic books relating to forensic science, criminal justice, environmental studies, and project management. You can print or save one chapter or section at a time, up to 50 chapters in one day. Search Help

Literati

The collection features over 2 million entries from hundreds of reference books, including 60,000 art and medical images, and 90,000 interactive map and atlas images. Print out single copies of individual entries and images from Literati for purposes of private study or research. Help is available within Literati in the top menu.

eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)

A large number of books on a wide range of topics from many publishers. NetLibrary reader or a PDF viewer is needed to view e-books.
You can print up to 10 pages per title per hour.
Help

ebrary

43,900+ full text books on many topics: Business & Economics; Computers; Technology & Engineering; Humanities, Life & Physical Sciences; Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Printing restricted to four pages at a time. Can only copy & paste small sections of text at time. Create account to bookmark, highlight, and download books. You can save chapters and pages in PDF format, or download the book for 14 days in Adobe Digital Editions format. Quick Start
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of more than 700 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.

You can print or save one chapter or section at a time.  

Oxford Reference Premium

Oxford Reference Online Premium offers over 200 dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press, including bilingual dictionaries. Print out single copies of the portions of Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection. Help is available within Oxford Reference Online Premium in the top menu.

Oxford University Press Scholarship Online

National University has purchased several of the subject collections. Notify refdesk@nu.edu if you see a book that you would like the Library to purchase. Print and save individual chapters from Oxford Scholarship Online as PDFs straight to your PC or other device. Help is available within Oxford Scholarship Online in the top menu.

PsycBOOKS

PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of over 30,000 chapters in PDF from nearly 2,000 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. It also includes close to 1,500 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. One copy of search output is permitted for use within the customer's organization.  
Safari Books Online

Computer and technology books from O'Reilly, Peachpit and other publishers.

Ability to print or copy only 1 page at a time.

Help

About the Collections

The National University Library's e-book collections cover a number of different subject areas -- everything from art, the humanities, history, to science and technology.  E-books are electronic versions of books and can be viewed online. National University's e-books can help you with your research or you can read them at your leisure.  They’re available for you to use -- anywhere, anytime.  Check them out!

Contact Us

Library Staff

We enjoy assisting our students, faculty, and staff. Let us know how we can help you!

  Email: refdesk@nu.edu
  Text: (858) 367-0904
  Call: (858) 541-7900
  Toll free:  (866) 682-2237 ext. 7900
  Ask Us (Chat & FAQ)
  Schedule a Consultation
  Library Hours & Location
  Find us on Facebook