Statistical Sources

California Cancer Registry: Data and Statistics - California's statewide population-based cancer surveillance system.  Contains data and statistics on almost all cancers diagnosed in California.

California Department of Public Health Statistics - Statistical and data tables produced by the CA Department of Public Health.

California Health Care Quality Report Cards - U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

California Health Interview Survey - provides data on California s as well as on the states various racial and ethnic groups.

California's Health Care Workforce - Five Almanac guides explore selected health professions, providing data on wages, education, and workplaces.

California Health Ranking - United Health Foundation, America's Health Rankings.

California Nurses Facts and Figures - This Almanac snapshot examines nurse supply, education, and demographics.

Cancer Profiles: California - Quick and easy access to descriptive cancer statistics.

State Profiles: California - Project of the Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data.

CA Department of Public Health: California Tobacco Control Branch - Yearly California Tobacco Facts and Figures reports.

CA Department of Public Health: Occupational Health Branch -Statistics related to worker health in CA.

Data Center, Kids Count: Health Statistics - California health profile of child well-being.

San Diego

Community Health Statistics - Health & Human Services Agency provides health statistics that describe health behaviors, diseases, and injuries for specific populations, in addition to  health trends and comparisons to national targets.

Census Bureau: San Diego City Quick Facts - Quick Facts collects some demographic data for a given area.

SD County Medical Examiner: Statistics - Reports on causes of death in the county.

America's Health Rankings - United Health Foundation, America's Health Rankings.

CDC Data & Statistics by Topic - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report - The CDC's weekly report on illnesses and accidents compiled from U.S. departments of health.

Collection of Biostatistics Research Archive (COBRA) - Scholar-driven repository of biostatistic working papers.

FastStats - Provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.

Gapminder USA - Compare the US states against each other.

Health, United States - an annual report on trends in health statistics published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

National Cancer Institute Statistics - Find the latest topical reports, interactive maps and graphs, and cancer statistics by cancer type, geographic area, and demographic subgroups.

CDC A-Z Index - Provides direct access to important health and safety topics, scientific articles, data and statistics, tools and resources – and over 900 topics in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention A-Z Index.

National Transportation Statistics -  Prepared by Research and Special Programs Administration, Transportation Systems Center, Transportation Information Division, Statistical Information Reporting Branch.

Partners in Information Access for in Public Health Workforce - Provides data about public health workforce

Pew Internet & American Life Project, Topic: Health - A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

State Cancer Profiles - Quick and easy access to descriptive cancer statistics.

State Health Facts - State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states.

State Snapshots - State Snapshots, compiled by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State. 

Gapminder World - Contains over 200 indicators displaying the trends in some cases back to the year 1800. The data in Gapminder World is constantly updated and refined.

Health: Key Tables - Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) compiled data on health expenditure, practicing physicians, hospital beds, life expectancy, infant mortality, suicides, cancer, tobacco consumption, and overweight or obesity. 

NationMaster - Compare a variety of statistics across multiple countries.

Unicef's Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS) - Tools used to validate coverage estimates of key child indicators.

World Health Organization Data and Statistics - World Health Organization's (WHO) portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation.