Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Selected E-Books
Comprehension Across the Curriculum by
Leading scholars present innovative ways to support reading comprehension across content areas and the full K-12 grade range. Chapters provide specific, practical guidance for selecting rewarding texts and promoting engagement and understanding.
Ensuring High-Quality Curriculum by
Develop a solid foundation for teaching and learning with this definitive, step-by-step guide to curriculum design and evaluation.
Motivation, Leadership and Curriculum Design by
This book discusses the links between the basis of motivational, leadership and curricular constructs with regards to 21st century and net-generation learning.
Un-Standardizing Curriculum by
This book shows how educators can learn to teach rich, academically rigorous, multicultural curricula within a standards-based environment.
Selected Websites
Selected E-Books
Backwards Planning by
Increase student achievement with a systematic approach to lesson design. Learn how to identify enduring understandings, set goals, establish benchmarks, and monitor progress to move your students to mastery of standards, while differentiating to meet their diverse needs.
Design and Deliver by
K-12 educators will learn how to use the three key principles of UDL; Engagement, Representation, and Action & Expression, to present the the information in multiple ways and meet the needs of diverse learners.
Understanding by Design by
This book offers teacher-designers a clear path to the creation of K-16 curriculum that ensures better learning and a more stimulating experience for students and teachers alike.
Your UDL Lesson Planner by
Through vignettes, exercises, video demonstrations, and other immediately useful resources, K-12 educators will discover how to translate UDL from theory to practice and plan lessons that meet every learner's needs.
Selected Readings and Websites
Selected E-Books
Culturally Responsive Teaching by
This book demonstrates that all students will perform better on multiple measures of achievement when teaching is filtered through students' own cultural experiences.
Engaging and Challenging Gifted Students by
Learn how to recognize the five unexpected traits of exceptional learners and adjust your teaching to meet the needs of all learners.
Preparing Pre-Service Teachers for the Inclusive Classroom by
Teachers must be prepared to create an effective learning environment for both general education students and students with special needs. This book discusses the latest approaches, skills, and methodologies on how to support special needs students.
The Hungry Mind by
Curiosity is a vital yet underappreciated trait to learning. Discover practical ways to put curiosity at the center of the classroom and encourage children's natural eagerness to learn.
Selected Readings and Websites
Selected E-Books
Best Practices for Teaching with Emerging Technologies by
This book provides new and experienced instructors with practical examples of how low-cost and free technologies can be used to support student learning as well as best practices for integrating web-based tools into a course management system and managing student privacy in a Web 2.0 environment.
Blending Instruction with Technology by
This book offers educators guidelines and solutions for implementing blended learning in today’s classrooms. It also focuses on providing students with a blended learning lesson that incorporates both cognitive and 21st Century Skills.
Game On by
This practical guide provides educators with helpful guidance for selecting and tailoring digital games to their needs and their students' needs.
Issues in Technology, Learning and Instructional Design by
This book focuses on current important issues in the instructional design and technology field.
Selected Readings and Websites
Selected E-Books
Essential Assessment by
With this research-based resource, you'll explore six essential tenets of assessment--assessment purpose, communication of assessment results, accurate interpretation, assessment architecture, instructional agility, and student investment--that will help deepen your understanding of assessment to not only meet standards but also enhance students' academic success and self-fulfillment.
Fast and Effective Assessment by
This book offers practical, real-world advice in the form of techniques that are both effective and sustainable in the everyday classroom.
How to Make Decisions with Different Kinds of Student Assessment Data by
The author helps teachers and administrators understand the critical elements and nuances of assessment data and how that information can best be used to inform improvement efforts in the school or district.
The Next Generation of Testing by
This edited book provides a very good source of information related to the consortium tests based on the common core standards.
Selected Readings and Websites
Selected E-Books
Addressing the Needs of All Learners in the Era of Changing Standards by
In this book, some of our leading educators envision the standards as a vehicle to provide more rigorous instruction and illustrate how teachers are uniquely qualified to determine the most effective methods for developing students' skills and close the achievement gap.
Literacy and the Common Core by
This book offers K-12 teachers clear guidance on how to design units, lessons, and objectives to meet the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts.
Navigating the Common Core with English Language Learners by
This book is designed to help teachers implement the Common Core in the ELL classroom. Find Ready-to-use lesson plans and reproducible handouts to help you bring these ideas into the classroom, and expert guidance to help you instill the higher-order thinking skills the Common Core requires.
Turning the Page on Complex Texts by
Learn how to select appropriate complex texts and design instruction to meet the needs of every student. Explore grade-specific classroom scenarios that illustrate how to scaffold lessons to foster close reading and deepen comprehension at all stages of K-12 education.
Selected Readings and Websites
The library's Curriculum Resource Center is now available online through Internet Archive.
There are approximately 307 e-books supplied by educational publishers (student editions, teachers' editions and workbooks, etc) on K-12 instruction.
You may access this collection by creating a free account with Internet Archive.
Step 1: Go to the Internet Archive website: https://archive.org/
Click on "Sign up" by the person icon, see screenshot below:
Once you complete the sign in form, you will receive an email to verify your account.
Upon verification, you can login and access the K-12 Curriculum Center.
Here are a suggested list of search terms to use:
| Art |
|
ESL Curriculum |
| Grade K (substitute K for any grade level, i.e. 3, 4, etc) Reading Strategies |
| History-social science |
| Kindergarten |
| Literature |
| Math |
| Math essentials |
| Music |
| PreK-3 |
| Phoneme awareness |
| Reading Comprehension |
| reading skills |
| Science |
