Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
The Library has over 125 article and information databases.
The following core databases cover History subjects and are a great place to begin.
Content: Scholarly journals, academic content, periodicals and videos covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
Purpose: A good starting point for research with coverage across many disciplines and fields.
Special Features: Text-to-speech listening feature. Tool to help discover citing articles.
Content: Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward to support upper-division and graduate research.
Purpose: Provides access to hundreds of history journals and books.
Special Features: Includes indexing of open access (OA) journals, allows users to search by time period.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
|
Check out our alphabetical list of electronic resources for more library databases. |
|
Not all databases provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them. Learn more here: Find Full Text |
|
Not sure if your article is scholarly? Don't know what peer-reviewed means? Learn more here: Find Scholarly Articles |
The following database searches illustrate the variety of searches available among the different databases. Feel free to begin with these searches then modify to focus on your own research questions:
Peer-reviewed (refereed) articles are certified by experts in the field before they are accepted for publication.
Brief Glossary:
Academic: Refers to the audience of a publication
Scholarly: Refers to the audience of a publication
Refereed: Articles are monitored before publication
Peer-Review: "Blind review" by scholars and experts
More Databases
