Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Qualitative Research: Designs & Approaches
This Week:
Now that you've been able to find a research article and critique it, you're ready to write your own EBP Plan. Use the following resources to help you locate articles on your chosen topic.
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
If you didn't find enough resources in our recommended databases, check out some of these additional databases.
Content: Comprehensive consumer health resource providing authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Purpose: Provides background reading on health issues. Check the "Refereed publications" box to find peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
Special Features: A broad collection of premier full-text reference works, Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter, streaming video, audio, and images
Content: Medical database covering nursing, allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Purpose: Provides information about all topics relevant to nursing and nursing education
Special Features: Advanced search functions including MESH capability.
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
To have Google Scholar search National University library databases, you'll need to link your Google account to the library. View the tutorial below (2:14) to show you how.
center>
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
Gone through all the suggestions in the guide and still need a little bit of help refining your topic or finding articles? Schedule a consultation with a librarian by completing the form here: http://nu.libguides.com/consultation.
Consultations generally last anywhere between 20-50 minutes and are the best use of everyone's time when you've conducted a preliminary search on your topic and have a list of keywords you've already tried and databases you've searched in. We can help you by phone, email, chat, or if you're able--come on into the library for some one-on-one face time!
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses by 
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice by 
Fast Facts for Evidence-based Practice by 