Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
We enjoy assisting our students, faculty, and staff. Let us know how we can help!
 Email: |
refdesk@nu.edu |
 Text: |
(928) 550-6552 |
 Call: |
(888) 628-1569 |
 Ask Us (Chat & FAQ) |
 Schedule a Consultation |
 Library Hours |
 Find us on Facebook |
Professional associations often post research or reports for their membership. Resources such as directories may only be available to current members. Publications might provide an opportunity to place advertisements or other marketing initiatives. See if the following might answer some of your questions:
NAICS = North American Industry Classification System
The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
| NAICS Structure | |
| 1st digit | Sector |
| 2nd digit | Sector |
| 3rd digit | Subsector |
| 4th digit | Industry Group |
| 5th digit | NAICS Industry |
| 6th digit | National Industry |
Step 1: Go to Data Axle Reference Solutions
Step 2: Search by company name (If your company is not listed, try the name of a competitor)
Step 3: Click view results
Step 4: NAICS / SIC codes are listed under industry profile.
Example: 24 Hour Fitness (selected one)
Contents: Business research database covering businesses from large conglomerates to small businesses.
Purpose: Database for business and economics students
Special Features: Data updated in real-time, phone numbers, addresses, SIC code, online presence, and number of employees, as well as information on verified, unverified, and out-of-business records
Exercise Instructor: Search using advanced search categories:
Law Offices: Search using advanced search categories:
Escrow Offices:Search using advanced search categories:
Be sure to explore other terms to identify local business SICs/NAICs.
What is Mergent Online? It is a database of “big data” that focuses on company information including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock, as well as financial statements going back fifteen years. It also includes products, major customers, suppliers, partners, and industries.
Content: Database for company and industry research containing detailed information about many publicly traded companies, including inactive companies.
Purpose: This is a key database for business, accounting, and economics students.
Special Features: Economic and industry reports, as well as company filings, financials, a report builder, and much more.
Mergent includes primarily public companies. Even if you do not see your company listed, look for a larger, public company in the same industry area. See the example search below:
Begin with Mergent Online basic search. In this sample, we typed in "fitness" and selected Bally.
Census Business Builder: Regional Analyst Overview & Small Business Edition Overview videos provide a brief overview of the key features of the Census Business Builder tool, and how to use it.
More help is available through:
Video: Navigation
Video: Filter Feature
Video: Profile Report
Video: Tips and Tricks
Below are some sample searches on Business to Business and Marketing:
Ways to limit: years, peer-review, industry, product, population, case study:
Think of ways to explore the nature of the client company/industry:
Use the database collections below to explore other searches:
