Skip to Main Content

ECO 203 - Microeconomics.

Week 1 Assignment

1. Select team partners and assign roles and responsibilities.

2. Choose one of the firms suggested in the course outline.

3. Review company background and history considering your choice of option below.

a. Choose demand/supply option.

             OR

b. Market structure option

Key Resources & Background Reading

The International Directory of Company Histories provides a unique view of a company.  The articles highlight key individuals, events, strategic decisions, and competitors. Use the following links to find overviews for your selected company. To search the series for other entries, use the link in the column to the left.

  • Amazon.com, Inc.: Passage, R. A., et al. (2010). Amazon.com, Inc. In T. Grant (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 113, pp. 10-14). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
    • Hachette: Hachette. (1991). In A. Hast (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 4, pp. 617-619). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library. [note age of article... pre-online initiatives]
  • The Boeing Company: Gasbarre, A. D., et al. (2010). The Boeing Company. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 111, pp. 30-38). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • Costco Wholesale Corporation: Keely, C. I., et al. (2010). Costco Wholesale Corporation. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 105, pp. 119-123). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
    • Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.: Healy, C., et al. (2013). Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 141, pp. 492-499). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • Facebook, Inc.: Ingram, F. C. (20160. Facebook, Inc. In T. Grant (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 175, pp. 120-124). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • Gillette: Tucker, T. M., & Salamie, D. E. (2012). The Procter & Gamble Company. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 133, pp. 351-361). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
    • Schick: Landa, M., et al. (2016).  Pfizer Inc. In S. Long, et al. (Eds.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 178, pp. 362-373). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • J. C. Penney Company, Inc.: Collins, L., et al. (2016). J. C. Penney Company, Inc. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 177, pp. 220-229). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • McDonald's Corporation: Tucker, T., et al. (2013). McDonald's Corporation. In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 144, pp. 314-322). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • Priceline.com Inc.: Cohen, M. L., and Ingram, F. C. (2012). Priceline.com Inc. In T. Grant (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol .127, pp. 321-326). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • Virgin Atlantic: Virgin Group Ltd. (2008). In J. P. Pederson (Ed.). International Directory of Company Histories (Vol. 89, pp. 479-486). Available from Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Industry Reports provide an overview of trends, forecasts, and economic impact.  These reports may be located by using Business Source Premier, (EBSCO), ABI / Info (ProQuest), and Mergent Online.  Selected reports are provided below.  If you have questions, please contact your Librarians.

Aircraft Manufacturing - NAIC:336411 / SIC:3721

Airline Companies - NAIC:481111 / SIC:451201 (451298)

Department Store - NAIC:452111 / SIC:5311

Electronic Shopping (Amazon) - NAIC:454111 / SIC:5961

Hospitality & Tourism - NAIC: / SIC:

Hunting & Fishing Preserves (Mauricedale Game Ranch) - NAIC:114210 / SIC:27103 (799716)

Retail Industry (includes general merchandise stores such as Costco & Wal-Mart) - NAIC:452990

Shavers & Razors (wholesale) - NAIC: / SIC:512210

Structural Steel Mfg (Kiva Systems) - NAIC: / SIC356907 (Robot Systems mfrs)

Ticket Services (StubHub) - NAIC:561599 / SIC:799973

Transportation Services (Uber) - NAIC:485999 / SIC:411914

Articles provide a wide range of information about companies, industries, and products:

  • News articles are important to capture events as they happen including new products, mergers, crisis.
  • Trade magazines & journals provide industry perspective on events along with best practices.
  • Academic journal (peer-review) articles focus on analysis and studies and provide more in-depth review of issues.

The following searches with the EBSCO Business Database Group are samples to get you started on your project.  They can be limited by type of source (see above) or by date (for event). 

Airline Industry

Amazon & Hachette

Boeing

Costco & Wal-Mart

Facebook

Priceline

Gillette & Schick

Hunting Preserves

JC Penney

Kiva Systems

McDonald's Happy Meals

Shopping Apps

StubHub

Uber

Virgin Atlantic