Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Library Instruction (Recorded)
Learn about using library resources to conduct different levels of research in this condensed instruction session. (23:55)
What is a peer-reviewed article?
Articles published in academic journals provide very specific information on a topic and usually contain original or new research. These articles are often peer-reviewed. Peer-reviewed articles are scholarly articles published in academic journals and go through an extensive peer-review process by other experts in the field before being published.
Use the databases below to begin searching for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on your topic.
 |
ProQuest: Search multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from ProQuest including ProQuest Dissertations. Help using this database.
 |
EBSCO: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO. Help using this database.
 |
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis): Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Help using this database.
Additional Resources
Contents: Journals in management, library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
Purpose: Find peer-reviewed journals in selected disciplines.
Special Features: View National University's holdings by selecting “My Products” from the menu bar.
Content: Legal material from California's Continuing Education of the Bar.
Purpose: Provides an all-in-one legal research solution.
8/19/20: If OnLAW does not load properly in Chrome, you may need to clear site data first.
When you click on the link for any of our online resources, you'll be asked to log in.
Click on the blue Single Sign On button and use your usual SSO credentials (just like you would to log into SOAR).
You can find more help for logging in here.
The Library's interlibrary loan service allows you to request articles from other lenders. This service is free. Once a partner institution has given us a .pdf copy, we'll forward it to your email address.
You can learn more about the interlibrary loan service, and find the request form, here.
You can use Ulrichsweb or Serials Directory to verify whether a journal is peer-reviewed. Click here for step-by-step instructions.
Remember: Most of the Library's databases will allow you to limit your search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals!
You can connect your Google Scholar account to the NU Library. This will allow you to avoid paywalls. Click here for a quick tutorial that'll show you how!
Click here to view a quick tutorial that'll show you how to track down the .pdf for an article.
Here on the Cybersecurity Research guide, we've selected "best bets" for research in your discipline. You can see a full, searchable and sortable list of databases covering many other disciplines here.
