Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
The Library has over 180 article and information databases.
The following databases cover subjects in the Humanities and are a great place to begin.
Content: Scholarly journals, academic content, periodicals and videos covering a broad range of academic disciplines.
Purpose: A good starting point for research with coverage across many disciplines and fields.
Special Features: Text-to-speech listening feature. Tool to help discover citing articles.
Content: JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources. National University subscribes to these JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections: I - IX.
Purpose: JSTOR is an archive of core research journals containing the full text of scholarly journals. Some of the journal issues go back to the 19th century, but there is a gap of typically 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in JSTOR. To locate recent issues of a journal, use the Library Catalog or Online Journal List. Help using this database.
Content: Collection of more than 30 Proquest subject-specific databases covering Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Purpose: Students can view a massive amount of peer-reviewed research across multiple disciplines.
Special Features: Includes a Thesaurus feature that assists in using the database’s controlled vocabulary, as well as read-aloud feature.
Additional databases covering subjects in the Humanities.
Content: Includes access to Gale Literature Resource Center (literary commentary), Gale Literature Criticism (biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers), and Gale Literature: Something About the Author (lives/works of children and young adult authors and illustrators).
Purpose: This interface brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
Special Features: Browse by topic, search for an author, search for a specific work, see your search history, and much more!
Content: Recordings of classical, jazz, folk, choral, film & TV, and blues music. Disc Count 183,015, Track Count 2,821,091 as of 9-1-2023
Purpose: Allows users to listen to thousands of recordings of various musical genres.
Note: This database is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Content: An online database for art and art history including scholarly and peer reviewed articles.
Purpose: A specialized database for information about and research on art and art history topics.
Special Features: Resources for art educators
Content: An online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Purpose: A specialized database for information about and research on music.
|
Check out our alphabetical list of electronic resources for more library databases. |
|
Not all databases provide the full text of articles even though the library has access to them. Learn more here: Find Full Text |
|
Not sure if your article is scholarly? Don't know what peer-reviewed means? Learn more here: Find Scholarly Articles |
Try the following searches, then modify to focus on your own topic.
Current Awareness: Review some of the journals listed below to identify current trends.
Found a great journal or article database that you would like us to add to the library's collection? Let us know!
The Library has a growing collection of self-paced training materials available 24/7 to help you use library resources. Please contact refdesk@nu.edu if you need assistance.
More Databases
