Module 1

Gothic, Fear & God

Module 1 Research Assignment:
Identify and research a key term in Gothic studies and write a discussion post (300 words) that summarizes and synthesizes your findings. What does this term describe, who are the key thinkers, and what are the main theories related to this term? The following is a list of possible key terms, though you're welcome to research a different term of your choice: sublime, abject, uncanny, automation, terror, horror, and grotesque.

Research Your Term

Click the link below to use the library's access to the full Oxford English Dictionary to research your chosen Gothic studies term. The OED is a rich tool that goes beyond quick definitions and delves into the etymology and usage of words - so ensorcelling!

Oxford English Dictionary

Here are some reliable resources from the open web to help you with this week's assignment.

University Chicago School of Media Theory
A nice list of terms under the wide umbrella of "media". Each entry is lengthy and provides some excellent food for thought.
Purdue Introductory Guide to Critical Theory
A good supplement course readings and lecture.
**HINT** This may come in handy for next week's assignment as well!

Use one (or more) of our library databases to research your chosen topic.

**HINT** If you have one good article or book chapter, take a look at the works that author cites - it's a surefire way to find more content!

Gale Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists from every age and literary discipline.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of core research journals containing the full text of scholarly journals. Some of the journal issues go back to the 19th century.
Literature Criticism Online
Provides access to an online version of Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism. Use this database if you want to search those reference e-books.
ProjectMUSE
Project MUSE is a full text database of over 100 scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

The library has a nice selection of reference books and literary criticism volumes both in print and online. Below are some searches to get you started. Feel free to search the Library Catalog to find more.

Keep in mind that if you can not visit the library in San Diego, CA you may request a print book be sent to you! Use the Books Direct link to the left to submit a request.