Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Link to the Information Students Need
The Library offers a variety of resources that faculty can integrate into their Blackboard classroom. Linking to articles and embedding videos and subject guides is an excellent way to provide students with easy access to quality, academic, library materials right at their point of need in your course.
What does the library have?
Librarians can create subject and course-specific guides that highlight recommended resources to assist students in starting their research.
The library will embed a link to your program guide on the Library Resources page on your Course Menu. You may also include links to other relevant guides. If you have other ideas for something you'd like to do, let us know. It may be possible.
Here is an example of a course guide we created for TED606: Equity and Diversity
To see a list of all Education Guides, go to the Subject Homepage.
To see a complete listing of available guides, go to the Research Guide Homepage.
The Library has a variety of online books and reference sources related to education.
To locate e-books on a topic, search the Library Catalog. Limit results to Books, Viewable Online.
Sample Searches:
To find background information and research trends, use an education encyclopedia or handbook. Check them out here.
The Library has access to thousands of online articles and journals. If you are interested in having your students use a specific article database, or even a group of subject appropriate databases, you can add a link directly to the database(s) or to the Recommended Databases list on an Education Guide.
Research Databases:
Content: An education database covering curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Purpose: A specialized database for academic, scholarly, and peer-reviewed resources in the field of education.
Special Features: Includes a tool to discover citing articles, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a thesaurus feature to assist you in the discovery process.
Content: Government (Department of Education) database focusing on education research and information.
Purpose: Excellent database to use for all topics in education.
Special Features: After an initial search, filter by audience, grade level, survey used, and main topic. Includes a thesaurus to aid in the discovery process.
Content: Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Purpose: Access to high-quality education journals and reports.
Content: Includes full-text scholarly journals and dissertations supporting research on the theory and practice of education. It also covers literature and research on special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
Purpose: Provides access to a large range of full-text journals and dissertations supporting research on the theory and practice of education..
Special Features: Includes a read-aloud feature.
K-12 Databases:
Content: Includes full text for over 500 education journals.
Purpose: Provides access to lesson plans, students tools, curriculum standards and links to sites valuable for teachers.
Content: A new EBSCO interface for primary school children.
Purpose: Includes with Core Curriculum standards for teachers.
Content: A new EBSCO interface for secondary school children.
Purpose: Includes Core Curriculum standards for teachers.
Library tutorials and instructional videos cover general research strategies and how to use specific databases.
Finding and Linking to Library Tutorials:
