Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
The SmartSearch tool will search across many different databases at once... so it's often a good place to start! If you need advanced tools (like filters related to methodology), scroll further down and try a specialized database.
These are specialist databases for psychology and counseling.
Before you start your search, you may find this short tutorial on finding studies using APA PsychArticles & PsycInfo helpful!
Content: One central search that contains all of NU's subscribed EBSCO databases.
Purpose: Search for articles from multiple disciplines with this collection of databases from EBSCO.
Content: APA database that offers full-text for journals published by APA, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation. View the APA PsycArticles Journal History for a complete coverage list.
Purpose: Important database for psychology, counseling, and education students.
Special Features: The database is updated bi-weekly all content is available in PDF and HTML formats.
Content: Journal article database from the American Psychological Association that indexes over 2,500 journals along with book chapters and dissertations.
Purpose: Provides a single source of vetted, authoritative research for users across the behavioral and social sciences.
Special Features: citations in APA Style®, updated bi-weekly, spans 600 years of content
Content: Provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Purpose: Full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.
Special Features: Includes many journals indexed in APA PsycInfo.
These are specialist databases for health, biology, and sport science.
Content: An alternative and complementary medicine journals database. Some focused searches may result in more magazine articles than peer-reviewed journal articles.
Purpose: An alternative medicine database for nursing and health students.
Special Features: Includes a browsable index of subject terms, and text-to-speech feature for some articles.
Content: Literature review database covering psychology, sociology, anthropology, environment and resources, law and social science, political science, and public health.
Purpose: Provides articles that synthesize primary research and discuss the topic in historical context. Discover seminal works and literature gaps.
Special Features: Multimedia and supplemental materials.
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
Content: Includes citations to millions of biomedical journal articles, as well as some books, book chapters, and reports.
Purpose: An essential database for biomedical and health topics
Special Features: Includes MeSH search functionality
Content: Scholarly journals, magazines, and books focusing on health. Specific subject areas include physical fitness, exercise, coaching, athletic administration, college and university sports, facility design and management, allied health, occupational health and therapy, public health, and much more.
Purpose: Use to research health in relation to education, psychology, or other disciplines.
Special Features: Includes Open Access (OA) journals as well as traditionally published journals.
When you click on the link for any of our online resources, you'll be asked to log in.
Click on the blue Single Sign On button and use your usual SSO credentials (just like you would to log into SOAR).
You can find more help for logging in here.
We've got a tutorial here that'll show you how to find empirical studies using PsycArticles and PsycInfo. You can use the same strategies in other databases, too!
Click here for some quick tips on finding articles about specific unethical experiments.
Click here to view a quick tutorial that'll show you how to track down the .pdf for an article.
The Library's interlibrary loan service allows you to request articles from other lenders. This service is free. Once a partner institution has given us a .pdf copy, we'll forward it to your email address.
You can learn more about the interlibrary loan service, and find the request form, here.
You can use Ulrichsweb or Serials Directory to verify whether a journal is peer-reviewed. Click here for step-by-step instructions.
Remember: Most of the Library's databases will allow you to limit your search results to articles from peer-reviewed journals!
Here on the Psychology Research guide, we've selected "best bets" for research in your discipline. You can see a full, searchable and sortable list of databases covering many other disciplines here.
