Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM-5-TR)
When to use it: The DSM-5-TR is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Publication types: Diagnostic criteria and codes; measures and models
Help with citing from it: See the APA's guide for citing the DSM and other diagnostic manuals.
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
When to use it: The Handbook helps clinicians and students improve their skill in formulating a comprehensive differential diagnosis by including the DSM-5® classification and providing a variety of approaches, including a six-step diagnostic framework, 29 bottom-up "decision trees," and 66 differential diagnosis tables.
Publication types: Diagnostic criteria and codes; measures and models; instruction and guidance
Help with citing from it: See the APA's guide for citing authored books with DOIs.
Explore the Library's PsychiatryOnline subscription for more content from the DSM Library, including psychiatry-related journals, news, guidance, and past editions of the DSM.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
When to use it: HAPI is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Publication types: Journal articles and test critiques
Where to find help using it: See our guide for using HaPI.
Help with citing from it: See our handout for generating citations in EBSCO databases.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (MMY)
When to use it: Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.
Publication types: Test critiques
Where to find help using it: See our guide for using the MMY.
Help with citing from it: Guidance for citing from the MMY is available at the Buros website.
Please see our guide for Educational and Psychological Tests for more information.
Some NU programs use physical test kits which are kept at the Library or other regional campuses. Access to these kits is limited to students currently enrolled in specific courses. Please contact your instructor or department for more information.
The APA has a guide for citing diagnostic manuals like the DSM here.
For more help with APA citations, try the Citation Help page, or click here to ask us directly by chat or email.
Guidance for citing from the MMY is available at the Buros website.
For more help with APA citations, try the Citation Help page, or click here to ask us directly by chat or email.
