Research Guides: Encyclopedias, etc.: Education

The Value of Handbooks & Encyclopedias

Use subject-related handbooks and encyclopedias to find background information and research trends. Search the Library Catalog links below or browse our online reference collections:

Identify Theories

Textbooks are a great place to identify theories and theorists for your discipline. Library handbooks and encyclopedias also can help you in this area. Review some of the examples below:

Handbook of Contemporary Learning Theories
This e-book deals with the theoretical perspectives concerning the nature of the learning process, as well as the innovative research that supports these positions.
Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning: Theory and Practice
This e-book provides practical ideas for applying the models of learning, with tools, activities and photocopiable resources which can be incorporated directly into classroom practice.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories
This e-book contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.

Credo Reference Titles

The following education encyclopedias are some of the key resources available in CREDO:

Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Compiles authoritative articles on the education of children and adults with special needs
more...less...
The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs from AAMR, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION ON MENTAL RETARDATION to ZYGOSITY. All articles are cross-referenced, and citations guiding you to related sources appear at the end of each entry.
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Covers ideas that have influenced educational thinking
more...less...
The encyclopedia is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present. This core consists of philosophers such as Plato, Abelard, Descartes, Locke, and Dewey, along with topics from the field of philosophy, such as epistemology, metaphysics, rationalism, and realism.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
Discusses theory and methodology of evaluation of personnel, programs, and students
more...less...
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of School Effectiveness and Improvement
Provides overview of school effectiveness by region as well as well as a look at the factors that influence program improvement
more...less...
This book discusses a series of issues currently at the forefront of educational debate internationally, using works of distinguished authors from many regions of the world.

Gale eBook Titles

Browse some of the selected Gale reference e-books below to find more background information:

Encyclopedia of Education
Useful tool for locating grounded information on key education concepts, movements, and people
more...less...
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Focus on social and cultural issues that influence educaton
more...less...
Provides an introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. This area of education reflects many of the conflicts, tensions, and forces in American society, focusing on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context.
More Gale education titles

Biographies

Finding background information on key individuals in the field (founders, theorists, etc.) is often found in biographies published as books. However, reference sources often provide a concise overview of an individuals contribution to the field.

Educators Biography
Run Library Catalog search.

Find Education Statistics

The following are popular sources for finding education data and statistics. Many are produced by government agencies.

Digest of Education Statistics (NCES)
Offers statistical information covering the broad field of American education from Pre-K through graduate school.
EdData (CDE)
Fiscal, demographic, and performance data on California’s K-12 Schools.
Education (U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing.
Fast Facts (NCES)
Offers concise information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning.
Nation's Report Cards
Ongoing assessment of what U.S. students know and can do in different subjects.
Public School Review
Offers free, detailed profiles of USA public schools and their surrounding communities.