Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use subject-related handbooks and encyclopedias to find background information and research trends. Search the Library Catalog links below or browse our online reference collections:
The following business encyclopedias are some of the key resources available in the online collection:
Browse some of the selected reference sources below to find more background information:
The following title are "favorites" of some of the librarians. Find out why...
| Title | Description | Recommended by |
| Accountants' Handbook v.2 | Available in ebrary | Steve |
| AMA Management Handbook | by American Management Association | Nancy |
| Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management | One of my favorite titles | Robin |
| Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management |
Available in Library: Reference HD30.15 .B455 |
Robin |
| Business Statistics | Nancy | |
| Business Statistics of the United States: Patterns of Economic Change | Nancy | |
| Handbook of Organizational Learning and Knowledge | Nancy | |
| Hoover's Company Profiles | Brief overview of company stocks, history, and locations | Robin |
| Wiley GAAP 2013 | Steve |
Three ratio resources are commonly used in business: D&B, RMA, and Troy. [See titles below.]
For more on how to read and use financial statements and ratios, try the following search: Ratio Analysis and Financial Statements
Content: Business research database providing solvency ratios, efficiency ratios, and profitability ratios.
Purpose: Allows business students immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data.
Special Features: Search data by SIC & NAICS code, download and create reports, compare business balance sheets with industry benchmarks, and more.
The following business databases originated as handbooks and are a great place to locate company financials and history:
Content: Database supporting business and legal research.
Purpose: News, journals, and company profiles and directories for both public and private companies.
Special Features: U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to the 1790s, New York Times articles, Cases, Law Reviews, Company & Country Information, and much more.
Content: Database for company and industry research containing detailed information about many publicly traded companies, including inactive companies.
Purpose: This is a key database for business, accounting, and economics students.
Special Features: Economic and industry reports, as well as company filings, financials, a report builder, and much more.
