Welcome to the new library homepage for students who enrolled through Northcentral University. To access the old NCU library homepage, click here. If you enrolled through National University, click here. Please be aware that the NU and NCU students have access to all of the same resources, and we will be merging library homepages by next year.
Welcome to the new library homepage! If you are looking for the old homepage, click here.
Use our recommended databases to find journal articles in your subject area. Learn more about finding articles, or request articles that the library does not have access to.
Library databases can be used to limit down to very specific types of information. In this class you'll need to locate a quantitative research article written by a nurse. Check out the two tutorials below to get an idea of how to use the limiters in combination with keywords to find your required articles.
Start with these library databases to locate articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals in the nursing and allied health fields.
Content: EBSCO’s nursing database covering biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines.
Purpose: Database for research in nursing, medicine, and consumer health.
Special Features: Strong qualitative studies. Filter studies by nurse as author, evidence-based practice, and type of study. Includes MESH indexing, PICO search functionality, text-to-speech feature for some articles, and a tool for discovering citing articles.
Content: Database of intervention focused systematic reviews.
Purpose: Learn the effectiveness of interventions proven through evidence-based research.
Special Features: Includes MESH and PICO search functionality.
Help using this database. Please allow cookies if the page does not load.
Content: EBSCO database of nursing and allied health journals with nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Purpose: Informs users about topics such as pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
Content: A comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Purpose: Provides content for learning and researching biomedical science and related subject areas.
Special Features: Includes instructional multimedia content to help students connect theory to practice.
Content: Detailed information about periodicals.
Purpose: Use to verify if a journal is peer-reviewed, as well as discover additional information on a specific journal.
Special Features: Provides a review of certain journals
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
To have Google Scholar search National University library databases, you'll need to link your Google account to the library. View the tutorial below (2:14) to show you how.
Check out our helpful document delivery services for articles.
When researching a question, don't use complete sentences. Instead, use the most important keywords! For example:
How are mobile devices affecting education?
The most important keywords are:
mobile devices AND education
Use Boolean operators to modify your search. This is very useful when you are searching for journal articles!
Boolean Operators
AND OR NOT
AND will narrow your search results:
"global warming" AND glaciers
OR will expand your search results:
"mobile devices" OR smartphones
NOT will exclude certain results:
cowboys NOT football
Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase. This will help you find more specific results! For example:
social media = 8221 results
"social media" = 1140 results
Use an asterisk (*) after a set of letters to perform a truncated search. This will find variations of a word. For example:
musc*
will find results containing the words...
muscle, muscular, musculoskeletal, etc.
Browse the following journals to stay current on recent research trends:
